Tequila Regions

Tequila Regions
Tequila is a Denomination of Origin spirit. Similar to how Scotch can only be called Scotch if produced in Scotland, or Champagne, in the Champagne region of France, Tequila must be produced in the designated areas of Mexico for the spirit to be called Tequila. While this is an important regulatory protection for the spirit, it also brings along a wonderful component of terroir.

Where California produces nearly 90% of all wine in the United States, the state of Jalisco produces 98% of all tequila in the world! Jalisco is centrally located on the western coast of Mexico, home to the beautiful beach town of Puerto Vallarta. Guadalajara is it’s capital city and birthplace to mariachi, the Mexican hat dance, and our favorite, the torta ahogada.

There are 4 lesser-known regions in Mexico where premium tequila can be produced: Tamaulipas, Guanajuato, Nayarit, and Michoacan.

Reading next

Rey Sol Tequila
Cava de Oro