Tequila Infographics

Hierarchy of Agave

Hierarchy of Agave
Which is what is which? We get many inquiries about the differences in classifications of agave spirits. What is a Tequila? What is a Mezcal? Are they all made from the same kind of agave? And while this infographic won’t give you all of that information in detail, it does give you an easy way to remember how all of these spirits are categorized within the broader spectrum of agave. At a very high level, any spirit made from agave is considered a Mezcal. Within that, there are specific definitions and designations for the different agave spirits. Tequila, Mezcal, Bacanora, Raicilla, Sotol, and there is an agave “beer” we haven’t listed here, Pulque! How many of these have you tried?

We’ll be diving into more about each of these spirits in time but for now, if you’re interested in more information on Mezcals, go check out our friends @mezcalistas mezcalistas.com

Reading next

Tequila Aging Barrel Chars
Agave is Not a Cactus