The Different Types of Tequila

home/ about / tequila guide / The Different Types of Tequila
The Different Types of Tequila

Different Types of Tequila

Bottling and Aging Tequila

Tequila blanco, or silver tequila, undiluted, is the starting point of all sipping tequilas that make their way to your glass. If the tequila is meant to stay a blanco, it will be diluted down to 40% and put into a bottle straight away. If it is meant to be aged tequila, its put directly into the barrel of choice for the selected amount of time and diluted after it is removed from the barrel.

The different classifications of Tequila are listed below:

Blanco Tequila

Blancos or silver tequilas are, for the most part, unaged. However, they can lightly be rested in oak for up to 60 days. A lightly aged blanco tequila may have a slight green tinge to it in the bottle.

Joven or Gold Tequila

Joven Tequila is a blanco tequila blended with aged tequilas. While a Gold Tequila is often a mixto tequila that is an “Abocado”: a tequila that has not rested in wood but instead has had caramel color, oak natural extract, glycerin, and/or sugar syrup added to make it appear as though it has.

Reposado Tequila

Reposado tequilas are rested in oak barrels anywhere from 2 months right up to a day before 1 year.

Añejo Tequila

Añejo tequilas are aged in oak barrels from 1 year up to 3 years

Extra Añejo Tequila

Extra Añejo tequilas are aged longer than 3 years in oak barrels.

Cristalino Tequila

Cristalino Tequilas are aged tequilas that are filtered again to remove the color for a clear sipping tequila, with aged characteristics. Most often seen with Añejos and Extra Añejos.

Recommended Products